In 2017, the Conservatives came within touching distance of taking the seat from Labour, with Tory Reform Group Chair Owen Meredith missing out by a mere 30 votes. Given the constituency’s strong support for Leave and the retirement of the incumbent Labour MP, the constituency should be a good target for the Conservatives. 

However, the Brexit Party’s refusal to stand down in Conservative target seats could complicate matters for the party, especially in a constituency with a majority as small as 30.

Interestingly, UKIP did not field a candidate at the 2017 election, despite the party coming third with 16.9% in 2015.


  • Carl Greatbatch (Labour)
  • Aaron Bell (Conservative)
  • Jason Cooper (Brexit Party)
  • Nigel Jones (Liberal Democrat)
  • Carl Johnson (Green)